Peter Russell

Delphi Masterworks of Johann Sebastian Bach (Illustrated)

A German composer, organist, harpsichordist, violist, and violinist of the Baroque era, Johann Sebastian Bach is now generally regarded as one of the greatest composers of all time. Celebrated as the creator of the ‘Brandenburg Concertos’, ‘The Well-Tempered Clavier’, the ‘Mass in B Minor’ and countless other masterpieces of church and instrumental music, Bach’s sublime skill was his ability to adapt and perfect the principal styles and forms of previous generations. Delphi’s Great Composers Series offers concise illustrated guides to the life and works of our greatest composers. Analysing the masterworks of each composer, these interactive eBooks include links to popular streaming services, allowing you to listen to the pieces of music you are reading about. Evaluating the masterworks of each composer, you will explore the development of their works, tracing how they changed the course of music history. Whether a classical novice or a cultivated connoisseur, this series offers an intriguing overview of the world’s most famous and iconic compositions. This volume presents Bach’s masterworks in succinct detail, with informative introductions, accompanying illustrations and the usual Delphi bonus features. (Version 1)

* Concise and informative overview of Bach’s masterworks
* Learn about the classical pieces that made Bach a celebrated composer
* Links to popular streaming services (free and paid), allowing you to listen to the masterpieces you are reading about
* Features a special ‘Complete Compositions’ section, with an index of Bach’s complete works and links to popular streaming services
* Includes six biographies – explore Bach's intriguing musical and personal life

Please visit www.delphiclassics.com to browse through our range of exciting eBooks


The Masterworks
Toccata and Fugue in D Minor, BWV 565
Violin Concerto No. 2 in E Major, BWV 1042
Cello Suite No. 1 in G Major, BWV 1007
Brandenburg Concerto No. 1 in F Major, BWV 1046
The Well-Tempered Clavier, Book 1, BWV 846
Concerto for Two Violins in D Minor, BWV 1043
Herz und Mund und Tat und Leben, BWV 147
Violin Concerto in A Minor, BWV 1041
Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied, BWV 225
St. Matthew Passion, BWV 244
Orchestral Suite No. 3 in D Major, BWV 1068
Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme, BWV 140
Christmas Oratorio, BWV 248
Concerto for Violin and Oboe in C Minor, BWV 1060R
Harpsichord Concerto No. 4, BWV 1055
Goldberg Variations, BWV 988
Great Eighteen Chorale Preludes, BWV 651–668
Mass in B Minor, BWV 232

Complete Compositions
Index of Bach’s Compositions

The Biographies
Johann Sebastian Bach: His Life, Art, and Work by Johann Nikolaus Forkel
Bach by Reginald Lane Poole
Bach by C. F. Abdy Williams
The Culmination of German Protestant Music: Johann Sebastian Bach by Edward Dickinson
John Sebastian Bach by Harriette Brower
Johann Sebastian Bach by Louis C. Elson

Please visit www.delphiclassics.com to learn more about our wide range of exciting titles
1 130 паперових сторінок
Дата публікації оригіналу
Рік виходу видання
Delphi Classics Ltd
Уже прочитали? Що скажете?
Перетягніть файли сюди, не більш ніж 5 за один раз