Peter Russell

Delphi Masterworks of Franz Schubert (Illustrated)

Renowned for melody and harmony, the Austrian composer Franz Schubert represents the foremost bridge between the worlds of Classical and Romantic music. In spite of his short life, Schubert left behind a vast oeuvre of original and inspiring works, including more than 600 secular vocal works, seven complete symphonies, sacred music, operas, incidental music and a large body of piano and chamber music. Although appreciation of his music during his lifetime was limited to a small circle of admirers, his reputation has increased significantly in the decades following his death. Today, Schubert is ranked among the greatest composers of Western music. Delphi’s Great Composers Series offers concise illustrated guides to the life and works of our greatest composers. Analysing the masterworks of each composer, these interactive eBooks include links to popular streaming services, allowing you to listen to the pieces of music you are reading about. Evaluating the masterworks of each composer, you will explore the development of their works, tracing how they changed the course of music history. Whether a classical novice or a cultivated connoisseur, this series offers an intriguing overview of the world’s most famous and iconic compositions. This volume presents Schubert’s masterworks in succinct detail, with informative introductions, accompanying illustrations and bonus texts. (Version 1)

* Concise and informative overview of Schubert’s masterworks
* Learn about the classical pieces that made Schubert a celebrated composer
* Links to popular streaming services (free and paid), allowing you to listen to the masterpieces you’re reading about
* Features a special ‘Complete Compositions’ section, with an index of Schubert’s complete works and links to popular streaming services
* Includes links to rare compositions
* Also features five biographies — explore Schubert's intriguing musical and personal life

Please visit www.delphiclassics.com to browse through our range of exciting eBooks


The Masterworks
Symphony No. 1 in D major, D 82
Symphony No. 3 in D major, D 200
Symphony No. 5 in B-Flat Major, D 485
Three Marches Militaires, Op.51, D 733
Mass No. 5 in A-flat major, D 678
Piano Quintet in A major, D 667; “Trout Quintet”
Symphony No. 8 in B Minor, D 759; “Unfinished”
Fantasie in C major, D 760; “Wanderer Fantasy”
Rosamunde, D 797
String Quartet No. 14 in D Minor, D 810, “Death and the Maiden”
Symphony No. 9 in C major, D 944
4 Impromptus, Op.90, D 899
6 Moments musicaux, Op.94, D 780
String Quintet in C major, D 956
Fantasia in F minor, D 940
Winterreise, D 911

Complete Compositions
Index of Schubert’s Compositions

The Biographies
Schubert, Schumann and Franz by George T. Ferris
Franz Schubert by Daniel Gregory Mason
Schubert by Francis Jameson Rowbotham
Franz Schubert by William Henry Hadow
Franz Schubert by Harriette Brower

Please visit www.delphiclassics.com to learn more about our wide range of exciting titles
416 паперових сторінок
Дата публікації оригіналу
Рік виходу видання
Delphi Classics Ltd
Уже прочитали? Що скажете?
Перетягніть файли сюди, не більш ніж 5 за один раз